just a guy trying to live the Dream of having my own school…hope you "Follow" and enjoy!

Humility & Knowledge of Self = True Strength!!!

I just finished a book I have read many times over the years yet first read when I was 17 years old. This book did and still directly shapes my life as a Fighter, Martial Artist, & Human Being! It is “Karate-Do My Way of Life” by Gichin Funakoshi. Gichin Funakoshi was the founder of modern day Karate, which was originally from his home island of Okinawa. His short yet powerful book is about his personal journey in life as a Martial Artist and how Karate came to be spread through out the known world. This book has totally helped shape me as a Jiu Jitsu, MMA, and Bar Fighter (Bouncer).

The title of this post comes directly from the final paragraph of Funakoshi’s book; “He who is aware of his own weakness will remain master of himself in any situation; only a true weakling is capable of true courage.” This is an extremely Profound and yet confusing statement all the same! This was and honestly is still a perplexing assertion that I have over many years struggled to fully understand.

How can weakness make you strong? One of the most pertinent thoughts that comes to mind when I ask myself this question is an interview I heard with one of the greatest Fighters of all time, George St. Pierre. He was asked if he knows what fear is and if he has ever felt it before or during a fight. His response blew me away! He said as matter of factly as he could that “Of course I am scared! I am in the grips of fear the whole time leading up to my fight but when I step foot in that cage and that bell rings, I let my body and training take over and the fear evaporates” Now that was definitely paraphrased but you get the point;)

I have sat back and meditated for years on how to come to grips with Funakoshi’s statement that only a true weakling will ultimately be courageous. As a recent supplement to my reflections on Funakoshi’s words I have included what GSP says about his fear and how he has harnessed that fear to be one of the greatest Fighters of all time. The result of my many years of dwelling on Master Funakoshi’s words, my many experience in the Fight/Martial Arts world, and GSP’s thoughts have brought me to the conclusion that “Humility & Knowledge of Self = True Strength!!!” I have come to believe that Funakoshi’s words mean that as a Fighter one must access an ability to be Humble no matter how “good” they are or how well they perform. A Fighter must also know his weakness and be aware of that in a Fight, and in life, so as to avoid that area or allow that weakness to be taken advantage of. For example, in life, if you have a problem with alcohol it would not be wise to hang around at bars thereby putting yourself in harms way or even date someone who drinks a lot of alcohol. The same concept applies for a Jiu Jitsu practitioner who knows that he is weakest (in positional strength and in submission defense) while he is in his opponent’s side mount…that Jitz Fighter should at all costs, avoid being put in his weakest position, and play to his Jiu Jitsu strengths so as to defeat his opponent!

Humility comes into play b/c I believe Master Funakoshi means that is ultimately the way to truly know and understand your weakness. Once a Fighter & human being authentically humbles themselves they will be able to know and understand their on their area(s) of weakness…thereby becoming a “Stronger & More Whole Fighter/Human Being”

Please Leave a Reply